Today I welcome Wanda DeHaven Pyle, author of “The Stone House Legacy”.

pic4

Hi Wanda, thank you for agreeing to this interview. Tell us about yourself and your background.

 

I grew up in the Flint Hills of Kansas and my recollections of life on the tallgrass prairie have influenced my writing. A life-long educator, I hold a Bachelor of Arts degree in Education, Master of Education degree in Educational Psychology and A Doctorate of Education degree in Educational Leadership.

A frequent writer of stories as a child, I always thought that one day I would grow up to become a writer. My work explores the untold stories of past generations and the impact they have on those who follow. I currently have three books out on Amazon and another in the works.

I live in Claremont, California with my husband and spend my time writing, traveling and volunteering my time in support of at-risk children. I am the author of two blog pages where I support the work of other indie authors and record the inspirations, reflections and insights gleaned through my writing.

https://drwandapyle.blogspot.com

https://wandadehavenpyle.wordpress.com/

http://amazon.com/author/wandapyle

You can also follow me on Facebook and Twitter:

https://twitter.com/pyle_wanda

https://www.facebook.com/wandadehavenpyle

  • When did you start writing?

I have been writing all my life.  However, for the past 40 years, most of my writing has been focused on professional issues in education.  I have finally been able to pursue by goal of writing fiction in recent years.

  • What motivated you to start writing?

It was more an innate desire. I felt compelled to do it. I felt that I had too much to say not to put it in writing.

  • What is your favorite book and what is your favorite author? Why?

There are so many! My favorite authors are those whose writing focuses more on themes than on plot. They  include interesting, complex, three-dimensional characters whose inner story drives the plot.  The language is lyrical and it often poetic in nature.

  • Where did you find inspiration for your stories?

I draw most of my stories from personal experience set against a backdrop of social and political change.

  • Are your stories based on someone you know or on events you have experienced?

Both

  • When I’m writing I need silence. So how about you? Do you like to hear music while you are working?

I don’t mind a little background noise. I can usually tune out distractions.

  • How many books have you written?

Three

  • What can you tell us about your next project?

I am currently working on the last book in my legacy trilogy.  It will take place mostly in Los Angeles in the 1980s against a backdrop of greed and graft in the music industry.

 

About your book… The Stone House Legacy

picture-3

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00STTDKEM

 

What is your book about?

For nearly a century the old stone house has kept its secrets hidden deep in the limestone hills of central Indiana. But when a charismatic young minister embarks on a controversial mission to develop the site as a retreat for ecumenical thought, there are forces working against him that cast a dark shadow over his plans.

Set in the birthplace of the John Birch Society during the turbulent years of the early 1960’s, The Stone House Legacy, reveals mankind’s stubborn inclination to repeat the mistakes of past generations. It is a fast-moving tale of youthful idealism in conflict with mid-western isolationism against a backdrop of fear and greed.

Can you tell us something about the main character or characters?

Reverend Simon Kingsley is an idealistic young minister filled with dreams of a new world order. When he returns from observing the proceedings of Vatican II in Rome with radical new ideas concerning long-held religious beliefs, he runs headlong into the fear, distrust, and hatred that runs rampant through society.

Would you like to send a message to the readers?

The Stone House Legacy is an evocative look at the early days of the Civil Rights movement through a fictional narrative sure to stir emotions. Each reader will react differently to the characters based on personal reminisces of these tumultuous times.
 

