Today I welcome Brenda H. Sedgwick author of “Marriage , a Jorney and a dog”

Brenda Sedgwick

Hi Brenda, thank you for agreeing to this interview. Tell us about yourself and your background.

Creative Writing Tutor U.K and Sri Lanka. Retired and still working. I strongly believe in education for adults. People should have a second chance. A lifetime in writing. First novel last year.

Blog bhsbooks.com  twitter @brendahSedgwick Facebook.

Marriage, a Journey and a Dog

 When did you start writing?

I started making up stories at junior school and won prizes. Ran school magazines etc. Joined a Creative Writing group early twenties and haven’t looked back.

What motivated you to start writing?

It could have been having a vivid imagination and love of words, or the boredom I made up stories to escape.

 What is your favorite book and what is your favorite author? Why?

I discovered fiction at the age of fourteen after a childhood of restrictions on reading anything that wasn’t religious. I was amazed and still am. Love A.S Byatt, Joanna Trollope wrote about relationships and that was fun. The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver was incredible. World history is engrossing. What more can I say?

Where did you find inspiration for your stories?

Relationships are rarely easy. Difficulties are a part of life and I like to make people smile and be entertained in spite of situations around them. Escapism. I leave the heavy stuff to other people.

Are your stories based on someone you know or on events you have experienced?

No, I would avoid specific people and situations, but I have experienced divorce and traveled to the places in France and Spain that I write about. I loved writing about Gerry who was obsessed with sport, he reminded me of many men I know.

When I’m writing I need silence. So how about you? Do you like to hear music        while you are working?

Space is great and not often achieved – a freedom from interruptions with or without music.

How many books have you written?

One book, the second is on its fourth edit and counting.

What can you tell us about your next project?

Finished the draft of The Trinket Wife. Editing is essential to me and I want to get it right before I pay someone else to read the manuscript. I’ve started to write short stories and poetry again, some funny some not. A third novel is in my head.

http://tinyurl.com/h65cbf5

 

Marriage, A Journey and A Dog by [Sedgwick, Brenda H]

 

 

What is your book about?

It’s a Romantic comedy. A comment on marriage in a humorous way. Incorporating travel, self-discovery, and a woman becoming independent. Love re enters her life but will she take it?

Can you tell us something about the main character or characters?

Natalie has a life restricted to the area she grew up in and she married a local boy. A family event calls her to France. Fired up with the experience of driving alone through France and visiting Paris, Natalie travels on to Spain. A whole new and exciting world opens up for her and it is difficult to return home and settle. Being married is important to her and she sticks to it until a revelation. The reader will probably not realize that the other characters have different attitudes to marriage. Spike the dog is an important character.

Would you like to send a message to the readers?

There is depth to what appears to be a light hearted read. Enjoy.

 

 

