Today I welcome  Elizabeth Horton-Newton,

with book

I was born and raised in New York City and started writing short stories when I was in elementary school. I studied Communications at Long Island University in Brooklyn, New York. Moving to Tennessee in 1989 I earned a degree in Psychology with a minor in Sociology. I also hold a certification in Forensic Document Examination. I work with a couple of Domestic Violence support groups. Besides writing I love to travel and I’m amateur photographer. Mother of four and grandmother of five, my husband Neil Newton is also a writer from New York. We live in a big hundred year old house with an assortment of rescued dogs and cats.

I blog regularly at
http://elizabethnnewton.wordpress.com
and often review books by other indie writers. My author page is at
http://www.elizabethhorton-newtonauthor.com/
and I have a Facebook page at
http://on.fb.me/1ANErb8

 When did you start writing?

I started writing when I was in elementary school. I used to write little stories for friends and classmates. I got really serious in high school. But it took me until I retired at age 60 to get really serious and have a book published.

What motivated you to start writing?

I loved to read. Reading stimulated my imagination. I began making up stories and drawing little pictures to go with them. As I got older I began to write more involved stories and dropped the illustrations.

What is your favorite book and what is your favorite author? Why?

I’d have to say my favorite book is “To Kill a Mockingbird”. I think it is truly the great American novel. I re-read it every year. But my favorite author is Stephen King. Besides the fact that he is amazingly prolific, I find his writing style varied. He can be incredibly poetic and at the same time to the point.

Where did you find inspiration for your stories?

My first published book, “View From the Sixth Floor” was inspired by my interest in the assassination of President John Kennedy on November 22, 1963. I remember the day it happened and the ensuing events very clearly. As I got older I came to have a lot of questions about it. My current book, “Riddle” which will be released on June 21 is based on a couple of things. One is the life of an old friend who was an adopted First Nations baby and was badly abused by his adoptive family. This got tied up with the song “Hazard” by Richard Marx and then “Riddle” was born.

Are your stories based on someone you know or on events you have experienced?

As I said, “Riddle” is a result of stories told by someone I knew who was an adopted boy who was abused. Many characters in my books are based on people I know though. Not all of them are nice.

 When I’m writing I need silence. So how about you? Do you like to hear music while you are working?

It varies. Some music can stimulate my imagination. Sometimes the television will be on and I will l hear it babbling away. I got a lot of ideas for “View” as I was driving 90 minutes twice a day to work. It was quite a frustrating experience. I would want to pull over and write. LOL

How many books have you written?

I have two completed books (unless you count the one I wrote when I was fourteen. It was about the Beatles and a young girl who falls in love with Paul McCartney.) I am currently at work on my third novel and I have one super novel that I work on periodically.

What can you tell us about your next project?

My next project is called “Stolen”. It’s about a young high school girl whose parents are killed in a car accident. During the ensuing investigation she learns they were not her real parents. She becomes entrenched in a mystery to find out who she really is. However someone is trying to kill her. Along the way she meets a charming Irish man who seems to be helping her and his sister who has a home/halfway house for unwed teen mothers. Of course there is romance and conspiracy.

About your books…

“View From the Sixth Floor: An Oswald Tale”

View_From_the_Sixth__Cover_for_Kindle (1)

can be purchased at http://amzn.to/1xm97s3 or https://www.createspace.com/5010415

What is your book about?

This romantic thriller takes a fictional “what if” look at the JFK assassination. Suppose accused assassin Lee Harvey Oswald had lived to defend himself. Imagine if 50 years after the assassination someone stepped forward to reveal the truth of what happened that day. What if the assassination was a conspiracy and the impact of those revelations reached into the 21st century? This the story of ordinary people caught up in extraordinary events. It’s a book that makes you think while being exciting and entertaining.

Can you tell us something about the main character or characters?

The two primary characters are widow Olivia Roberts and her friend and next door neighbor Bill Horton. As the 50th anniversary of the Kennedy assassination approaches she decides to visit Dallas, Texas. Bill, concerned for her safety on such a long trip, elects to join her although he is very reticent about the trip. As we travel with this older couple it becomes apparent that he is hiding some secret related to the assassination. As they grow closer and fall in love secrets are revealed and they enter a dangerous game of cat and mouse with the government.

“Riddle”

Created with love from Petra Burger - www.petraburger.com

Created with love from Petra Burger – http://www.petraburger.com

My next book is due to be released on June 21, 2015. It’s called “Riddle”. This story is also a romantic thriller, although the characters are younger. Kort Eriksen is a young Native American man who was accused and convicted of murdering his cheerleader girlfriend. Released on parole he returns to the town of Riddle. Grace Donohue is traveling cross country after finding her fiancé cheating with her maid of honor. Her car breaks down and she is temporarily stranded in Riddle. She meets Kort and soon they are involved in a romantic relationship. Suddenly accidents are happening and people are dying. Is Kort really a killer or is someone trying to frame him? It’s a very romantic and sexy book. There is also a lot more violence than my first book.

If you want to learn more about “Riddle” here is the Facebook page where you can updates on the release. http://on.fb.me/1L2DRGX

Would you like to send a message to the readers?

My biggest message to readers is to ask if they read a book by an indie writer, please take a moment to leave a review. Unlike writers with big publishing houses, indie writers rely on their readers to help promote their books. There are a lot of excellent indie writers out here with some great stories to share. Check them out!

Elizabeth is right, there are excellent indies writers waiting for you to give them a chance.

Thank you very much Elizabeth for stopping by it was a pleasure to have you here!

