Today I welcome Mary Anne Yarde author of  ” The Du Lac Chronicles”  – Book 1. and

” The Du Lac Chronicles” – The Pitchfork Rebellion.

 

Mary Anne Yarde Head Shot

 

Hi Mary Anne, thank you for agreeing to this interview.  Tell us about yourself and your background.

I was born in Bath, England, and I grew up in the southwest of England, surrounded and influenced by centuries of history and mythology. Glastonbury–the fabled Isle of Avalon–was a mere fifteen-minute drive from my home, and tales of King Arthur and his knights were part of my childhood.
At nineteen, I married my childhood sweetheart and began a bachelor of arts in history at Cardiff University, only to have my studies interrupted by the arrival of my first child. I would later return to higher education, studying equine science at Warwickshire College. Horses and history remain two of my major passions.
I  keep busy raising four children and helping run a successful family business.

To explore the legends of King Arthur visit Mary’s blog http://maryanneyarde.blogspot.co.uk/

Mary can also be contacted online…

https://www.maryanneyarde.com/

Tweet Mary @maryanneyarde

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/maryanneyarde/

 

When did you start writing?

I always loved to create stories and I initially started to write for the sheer pleasure of it. Before I attempted to write my first manuscript I had written historical advertorials for local business and advertisements / blog posts for the family business. I started my first ever manuscript about 12 years ago, and I have been writing ever since!

I cannot remember a time when I did not have a story rattling around in my head. I initially began to write for the sheer pleasure of it and also for work. I have written historical advertorials for local business and advertisements / blog posts for the family business. I started my first ever manuscript about 12 years ago, and I have been writing stories ever since!

 

 What motivated you to start writing?

Many years ago, one of my dearest friends was in the middle of studying for her English degree. Over coffee, one morning, she told me how much she was enjoying her latest module  – which so happened to be about creative writing. In turn, I told her about this idea I had for a book set in the times of King Arthur. When I had finished telling her my rough outline for a plot, she looked at me and said, “What are you waiting for? Write it!” She handed me her creative writing books and the rest, as they say, is history!

 

 What is your favorite book and what is your favorite author? Why?

One of my favourite authors is Nicholas Evans, who wrote The Horse Whisper. I love the way Evan’s brings his characters to life and his writing is so heartfelt that I can not help but be moved by it.

 

 Where did you find inspiration for your stories?

 

I grew up very close to Glastonbury in Somerset, so it was hard to get away from the Arthurian myths – but as great as these stories are, I always felt a little bit let-down by how the story of Arthur ends. There is a battle at Camlann, where King Arthur is mortally wounded. He is taken to Avalon and never heard of again. Likewise, the Knights who did not perish in battle, either end up in monasteries or become hermits. I wanted to write an alternative ending, where the knights carried on the fight for a united Britain.

 

Are your stories based on someone you know or on events you have experienced?

I think it would be difficult to write if I did not draw from my life experience. However, I do not base my stories on actual people I know or events that have happened in my life.

 

When I’m writing I need silence. So how about you? Do you like to hear music while you are working?

I always listen to music. It helps to focus me. I love the Celtic music of Scotland and Ireland – there is nothing like the sounds of pipes.

 

How many books have you written?

My debut novel is called The Du Lac Chronicles  – Book 1. I have also recently published an interim novella called The Du Lac Chronicles – The Pitchfork Rebellion.

What can you tell us about your next project?

 I am currently working on book 2 of The Du Lac Chronicles, which has a working title called The Du Lac Devil.

 

About your book…

The Du Lac Chronicles 2 Nov 2015 KINDLE

 

What is your book about?

The Du Lac Chronicles (Blurb)

“It is dangerous to become attached to a du Lac. He will break your heart, and you will not recover.” So prophesies a wizened healer to Annis, daughter of King Cerdic of Wessex. If there is truth in the old crone’s words, they come far too late for Annis, who defies father, king, and country to save the man she loves.

Alden du Lac, once king of Cerniw, has nothing. Betrayed by Cerdic, Alden’s kingdom lies in rubble, his fort razed to the ground and his brother Merton missing, presumably dead. He has only one possession left worth saving: his heart. And to the horror of his few remaining allies, he gives that to the daughter of his enemy. They see Annis, at best, as a bargaining chip to avoid war with her powerful father. At worst, they see a Saxon whore with her claws in a broken, wounded king.

Alden has one hope: When you war with one du Lac, you war with them all. His brother Budic, King of Brittany, could offer the deposed young king sanctuary—but whether he will offer the same courtesy to Annis is far less certain.

 

The Pitchfork Rebelion

 

 

The Pitchfork Rebellion (Blurb)
When the devil wanted to destroy the world he would do so with fire. Alden du Lac knew this for a fact, because the devil had come to Cerniw.

Alden may have driven the man who tortured him from his lands, but he can do nothing to drive him from his dreams.

Alden has become bitter, angry and unrecognizable to those who love him. The only person whom could possible bring him back from the brink is his younger brother Merton. But even Merton is at a loss as to what to do.

As Alden seemingly wars with himself, there is a new threat to the kingdom. A threat that nobody foresaw, or could have possibly predicted…

It was a pleasure to get to know you Mary Anne and about your work.

 

